Go By Bike BC Board Members Sought!

Join an exciting, growing organisation!

Go By Bike BC Society is looking for enthusiastic volunteer board members to join our existing committed and dynamic board team.

This is a great time to join the movement to encourage more people to experience the joy of choosing a bike for their everyday transportation.

We are in a period of growth and looking forward to a bright future-with your help!

We are looking for a variety of skills, and interests and representation from throughout the province, including:

  • enthusiasm, a  collaborative personality
  • Some experience with a not for profit board or committee orability to rapidly learn
  • Organizing or participating in local bike to work & school, and go by bike week events
  • Finance- Treasurer  position open-accounting designation an asset but not required
  • Sponsorship and revenue development
  • Governance-board development and succession planning
  • Human Resources and organisational development
  • Community outreach/marketing
  • Government relations/contacts
  • Technology
  • Legal

Time commitment: about 5 hours per month, 7-9 meetings via teleconference a year (including one face to face meeting planning meeting in Vancouver with travel expenses paid). One year terms.

For more information please contact Executive Director Penny Noble at pnoble@biketowork.ca by Nov 17 at the latest!

2018/2019 Board Members:

President: Taylor Bachrach, Mayor of Smithers, Smithers

Past President: Orlando Schmidt, Ministry of Agriculture, Abbotsford

Treasurer: Jade Chan, Richmond, Metro Vancouver Representative

Directors at Large:

Andrea MacIntosh, GreenStep Sustainability, Central Okanagan Representative

Darren Douglas, Province of BC, Greater Victoria Representative

Erin LaRocque, Vancity Environmental Sustainability, Metro Vancouver Representative

Josie Osborne, Mayor of City of Tofino, Vancouver Island/Tofino Representative

Robert Dodds, Primal Communications, Vancouver Island/Nanaimo Representative

Wendy Majeweski, City of Vernon, North Okanagan Regional Representative

Stephen Pilcher, Robotics/Cycling Coach, Vancouver Island Representative

Maureen Gillis, Lawyer, Metro Vancouver Representative

Dewi Evans, Community Events Coordinator, City of Kamloops, Okanagan Representative

Honorary Lifetime Board Member:

Arno Schortinghuis, Past President, BC Cycling Coalition

About the GoByBike BC Society Board of Directors

The GoByBike BC Society’s volunteer Board of Directors is a governance/policy board. In addition to setting policies and approving the annual budget, the Board sets short and long-term goals for the Society, and guides the Society’s programs and services.

If you are interested in learning about opportunities to volunteer with the Board of Directors, or opportunities to sit on a working committee, please contact Terri-Lynn Gifford, Provincial Program Manager, at terri-lynn@gobybikebc.ca.  


Provincial Sponsors